Pan fried Pompano/Pomfret

pompono1

Spiced, shallow fried Pomfret is a delicacy back home in Maharashtra.  Pomfret, also known as pompano or butterfish is very popular in South Asia as it is abundant in the surrounding oceans. In 2003, Arti, my sister from Singapore was visiting and while shopping at the local Korean store she noticed the fish, labeled pompano, in the seafood department. Arti makes the most amazing fish and was very confident it was the same as my favorite pomfret. It had been years since I had the delicious fish! She had the fish monger cut us perfect steaks and when we made it that evening it felt like I was back home eating my mom’s fried pomfret. Since that day, I have made pomfret in many different ways but this simple recipe is still my favorite!

Recipe

Prep time: 5 mins  Cooking time:10 mins    Total time: 15 mins

ings

Ingredients:

1 large Pompano cut into 6-7 steaks
1 tbsp lime juice
1/2 tbsp ginger paste
1/2 tbsp garlic paste
1/2 tbsp red chili powder (medium hot)
1/4 tsp garam masala
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/2 cup rice flour
1 tbsp cooking oil
salt to taste

Directions:

    1. Wash the pompano steaks thoroughly and drain all the water. Apply lime juice evenly and set aside for 5 mins. Drain all the lime water out. Lime water will help take away any fishy smell.
    2. Mix together ginger paste, garlic paste, red chili powder, turmeric and salt. Apply it evenly to the fish steaks.
    3. Add a pinch of salt, turmeric, red chill powder and garam masala to the rice flour and mix well.
    4. Heat a medium grilling pan and spread half tbsp of oil evenly. Roll the fish steaks individually in the rice flour, shake off any excess flour and arrange the fish on the pan. Apply the rest of the oil on top side of the fish using a brush. Cook each side uncovered on medium heat for 3-4 mins or until the fish looks golden brown and crispy.

Serve with lime wedges.

Enjoy!

 

 

20 thoughts on “Pan fried Pompano/Pomfret

  1. Well Archana …we had this for tea last week ….I substituted the Pomfret for Halibut steak as couldn’t get Pomfret here BUT it was sooooo quick, easy and delicious …Thankyou ….I think you should put your recipes in a book and sell it on Amazon ….these are lifesaving recipes for working Mum’s who like to feed themselves and their families well ….I took a picture of it ( I think I was showing off :D:D:D
    ANYWAY I tried to upload it here as reply but couldn’t so I blogged it instead and …yes ….yes ….don’t worry ….you have all the credit ….get that book together and get it sold on Amazon I say:D:D:D

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Gosh this sounds good …..I don’t think we can get pomfret in the UK tho ….I wonder if it would work with Halibut steaks? ….I might give it a go next week it sounds delicious and really quick and easy too :):):):)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

