Ginger Lemonade

IMG_9351

Now that it is actually feeling like summer and memorial day is almost around the corner I want to share this recipe with you. Its my favorite lemonade recipe with a kick of fresh spicy and aromatic – ginger. My memories of Indian summers are hot and lazy days, off from school, hanging out with friends and cousins. Growing up, it was a ritual at my home, everyday, to make a giant jar of lemonade in the morning. We would then serve it to the family and friends that would visit us during the day! No one ever refused the offer of fresh homemade lemonade when they arrived from the scorching sun outside. My mom, always added ginger and for me lemonade always must have fresh ginger. The first time when my husband, Ravi tasted it, he related it to the fresh sugarcane juice in India. Only then I realized that there was something very different about this lemonade. It was the freshly grated ginger, with its aroma and spicy kick, that made it – oh so refreshing and delicious!

I honestly do not wait for summer anymore to make this, I make it through out the year. I make it for get togethers and parties as it is a sure hit with adults as well as children. Except my own children, they for some reason only like water and mango lassi! I won’t complain as that gives me fewer people at home to share it with. This recipe also replaces my hot Ginger chai in the summer afternoons!

Here is the step by step recipe:

Wash some fresh lemons and ginger.

IMG_5160

Juice the lemons and grate the ginger.

IMG_5171Strain the lemon juice and grated ginger, pressing all the juice out of the ginger using a spoon.

IMG_5192

Stir in sugar and salt. Add 3-4 cups of chilled water and mix well.

IMG_5209.jpg

Recipe:

Prep time: 10 mins  Cooking time:0 mins    Total time: 10 mins

Ingredients:

2-3 large lemons
2 inch piece of fresh ginger
4-6 tbsp sugar
4 cup water
1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

  1. Cut lemons into half and juice all the lemons, it should be about 1/2 cup.
  2. Grate the ginger, I use my microplane grater. Grate about 2 tbsp of ginger.
  3. Strain the lemon juice and grated ginger, pressing all the juice out of the ginger using a spoon.
  4. Stir in sugar and salt. Add 3-4 cups of chilled water and mix well. Add some ice cubes just before serving. Garnish with some fresh mint leaves and a slice of lemon.

Enjoy!

 

28 thoughts on “Ginger Lemonade

  1. Archana, I love the addition of ginger in the lemonade. It definitely takes it to another level! also, just like your husband , it reminds me of the sugarcane juice which I love!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

