Ginger tamarind brussels sprouts

IMG_5821

Since I started blogging just over a 6 months ago now, I have discovered some amazing food blogs and recipes. I love how each one of us has a unique style. I recently came across a beautiful blog – abrowntable.com– where the author Nik has stunning photography and lovely recipes. One of his recipes that caught my attention right away was the ginger tamarind brussels sprouts. Ginger is my latest love in cooking, for the most part when I see ginger as one of the main ingredients I want to try the recipe right away. One of my recent post – Beet Salad -A celebration recipe also uses ginger and I love the spice and flavor it creates to the dish. I usually roast my brussels sprouts or make a cold salad by shaving it thin. I was happy to see this recipe and the photos made my mouth water wanting to make this asap!

Brussels sprouts are excellent source of vitamin C and vitamin K, good amounts of B vitamins, such as folic acid and vitamin B6; has essential minerals and dietary fibre.

IMG_5757

The recipe was simple and used all of my favorite ingredients – brussels sprouts, ginger, tamarind and honey!

IMG_5778

As Nik explains in his recipe – “The bitterness is what drives many people away from these little guys. What kills the bitterness? Shaving the sprouts super thin! The finer the shave the better. It also makes the entire dish feel lighter in taste and texture. Which is even better because this recipe is light and healthy and packed with a bunch of great zesty and sour flavors.” As much as I love to cook, I spend a lot of time chopping my veggies in a particular way. I like recipes that have the ingredients chopped thin and evenly. I literally spend hours with my knife and cutting board despite the food processor, mandolin and other gadgets I have in my collection for chopping my produce. Once you wash and remove the stem and any brownish leaves just chop the brussels sprouts as thin as you can or use food processor. It really is super easy to chop them with a nice sharp knife.

IMG_5793.jpg

This is about the hardest part of this recipe. Put a skillet on medium heat, add oil to it. Add ginger and sauté for 30 seconds without letting the ginger burn on low medium heat.

IMG_5795

Add the shaved brussels sprouts and mix well. Cook for 4-5 mins, I cooked mine for a less time than what the original recipe calls for, as I like it little crunchy. Add salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_5796.JPG

In a small bowl whisk together tamarind paste, honey and hot water to make the sauce. You can add more or less of these 3 ingredients to get the taste you like. I added more tamarind paste as I love the sour taste. Drizzle the sauce over warm brussels sprouts, enjoy as a meal or as a side dish.

IMG_5818

Here is the recipe from abrowntable.com with some of my slight modifications:

Ingredients
 
1lb brussels sprouts
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 inch piece ginger root, peeled (I grate washed ginger skin on)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper, freshly ground
1 teaspoon tamarind paste concentrate (I used 1 tablespoon)
2 tablespoons hot water
2 tablespoons honey
 
Directions:
1. Rinse the brussels sprouts under running tap water, drain, and pat dry with a clean towel. Trim the ends of the sprouts and discard any damaged outer leaves. Cut each brussels sprouts in half and then slice them extremely thin to get fine thin shreds. Alternately, you can also shave them on a mandolin slicer using the thinnest setting. Keep aside.
2. Heat the olive oil on medium high in a thick bottomed pan or skillet. Once the oil begins to heat up after approximately 30-40 seconds, grate the ginger root directly onto the hot oil using a microplane zester (or the fine teeth of a grater). Quickly stir and cook the ginger for 30 seconds in the hot oil, add the brussels sprouts to the oil, mix well and cook with occasional stirring for 8-10 minutes( I cooked mine for 4-5 mins only as  I like it a little crunchy.) Season with the salt and pepper and adjust the amounts if needed.
3. In a separate bowl, mix the tamarind, hot water and honey to a thin paste. Taste and adjust the sweetness with more honey if desired. If it is too acidic then you can add a little more hot water.
4. Serve the warm brussels sprouts with the tamarind sauce on the side. You can also drizzle a little sauce over the brussels sprouts and then serve the rest of the sauce with it.
Enjoy!
20 thoughts on “Ginger tamarind brussels sprouts

Leave a Reply

